Tioga County Sports Report
TIOGA COUNTY — Waverly's Scott Woodring bounced back from a season-ending injury during his junior year to enjoy an amazing senior campaign and earn the 2019-20 All-Tioga County "Player of the Year" honor.

His 6-foot-8 frame, combined with his ball-handling skills and footwork, allowed him to average a double-double with 25.8 points and 14.9 rebounds per game. Woodring also averaged an impressive 2.2 blocked shots and tacked on 1.4 steals per contest. He shot 56.9 percent from the field, and even made 10 3-pointers.

S-VE's Matthew Byrne was solid on offense, one of three Panthers to average double figures, but his contributions at the other end of the court make him the "Defensive Player of the Year." The junior pulled down 8.7 defensive rebounds, blocked 2.1 shots and grabbed 1.6 steals per game.

Waverly's Joe Tomasso is the "Newcomer of the Year." The 8th-grader averaged 6.5 points, 2.1 rebounds, 1.8 assists, and 1.7 steals per game. He also canned 24 3-pointers.

After losing three starters to the college ranks, including two of its top three scorers, it looked like it would be a tough season at Owego. However, the Indians turned in a respectable 10-10 season, earning "Coach of the Year" honors for Chris Evans, who edged out Waverly's Lou Judson for the spot.

With offense being a question mark, Evans put the emphasis on defense. Owego allowed just 47.8 points per game, the lowest average by the Indians since 1983. As for the offense, three players averaged double digits in scoring.

Owego's .500 record was a little deceiving. The Indians played nine games against state-ranked teams, winning two and barely missing two other upsets. They were also 7-7 against schools from larger classifications.


2019-20 All-Tioga County Team
Player of the Year: Scott Woodring, Sr., Waverly
Defensive Player of the Year: Matthew Byrne, Jr., S-VE
Newcomer of the Year: Joe Tomasso, 8th, Waverly
Coach of the Year: Chris Evans, Owego

First Team
Daniel Thomas, Sr., Candor
Brendan Evans, Sr., Owego
Evan Hamed, Sr., Owego
Mike Wasyln, Sr., Owego
James Sutherlin, Jr., S-VE
Sam Taylor, Sr., Tioga

Second Team
Kolden Foster, Sr., Candor
Marcus Rypkema, Sr., Candor
Donavin Beebe, Jr., Newark Valley
Matthew Byrne, Jr., S-VE
Joe Tomasso, 8th, Waverly
Aidan Westbrook, Jr., Waverly

Honorable Mention
Alex Doucett, Sr., Candor
Matthew Merrick, Jr., S-VE
Jalen McCarty, Sr., Waverly


IN PHOTO: Waverly's Scott Woodring.