Knolles Law-RealEstate Tioga State Bank GUTHRIE SPORTS MED Tioga County Sports ReportDANDY MINI MARTS BX Williams Auto GroupLounsbury Agency


Tioga County Sports Report
TIOGA COUNTY — Section IV crowned two state champions and a runner-up on the field hockey pitch this season, proving just how talented and competitive the area’s stick wielders are.

Those traits were also evident at the local level as several players enjoyed productive seasons. Among them was Owego’s Ashleigh Steele, who edged out teammate and River Hawks scoring leader Lexi Cheeseman for the 2023 All-Tioga County “Player of the Year” honor.

A junior midfielder, Steele brought an intense style of play to the game and her versatility made her a dangerous threat both on offense and defense. Her ball-control skills created several scoring opportunities for her teammates, but she was also a formidable foe on defense. She contributed three goals and five assists as Owego qualified for the postseason.

SVEC freshman Kendall Gentile is the “Newcomer of the Year.” One of five freshmen to make an immediate impact for the Eagles this season, she tied for the most points on the team (10) and led the team in assists (6). An inserter on offensive penalty corners, her knowledge of the game and her penchant to be a team player were pluses for the SVEC squad.

The “Coach of the Year” is Owego’s Ashlee Marsh. Following a one-year hiatus, she returned to guide the River Hawks back to the Section IV playoffs. Owego posted a 6-0 record against Tioga County opponents, outscoring them by a combined 34-3 with three shutouts.

POY: Ashleigh Steele, Owego
NOY: Kendall Gentile, SVEC
COY: Ashlee Marsh, Owego

First Team
Lexi Cheeseman, Owego, Junior
MaKenzie Comparetta, Owego, Senior
Kendall Gentile, SVEC, Freshman
Demi Mouillesseaux, SVEC, Senior

Ava Brown, Owego, Senior
Olivia Crapser, Owego, Senior
Ashleigh Steele, Owego, Junior
McKenzie Williams, Tioga, Junior

Hailey Engbith, Newark Valley, Senior
Gabriella Boehme, Owego, Senior
Keira Lane, Owego, Senior
Raegan Sudnikovich, SVEC, Senior

Katelyn Klym, SVEC, Junior

Second Team
Kayden Rockwell, Newark Valley, Junior
Madison McEvoy, Owego, Junior
Aubrie Kastenhuber, SVEC, Senior
Kameron Joyce, Tioga, Senior

Malloy Chapman, Newark Valley, Freshman
Claire Rollins, SVEC, Freshman
Kaidince Root, SVEC, Freshman
Erin Luther, Tioga, Junior

Dakota Callahan, Newark Valley, Freshman
Ryan Schweckendeick, Newark Valley, Sophomore
Abby Johnson, Tioga, Senior

Chloe Gillette, Tioga, Senior

Honorable Mention
Cecelia Whitney, Newark Valley, Freshman
RaeAnn Craft, Owego, Sophomore
Dallas Fanning, SVEC, Freshman
Megan Williamson, SVEC, Freshman

NOTE: All-stars are listed alphabetically by school, then by name.


IN PHOTO: Owego’s Ashleigh Steele. ... TCSR STOCK PHOTO.

You've asked about helping ...
here's your chance. Click HERE