Boys & Girls Club GUTHRIE SPORTS MED Tioga County Sports ReportDANDY MINI MARTS Tioga State Bank Williams Auto GroupLounsbury Agency


Tioga County Sports Report
TIOGA COUNTY — Newark Valley, Owego, Tioga and Waverly have reeled in several Section IV honors from the Basketball Coaches Association of New York.

Newark Valley’s Cha Gardner has been named the BCANY 2023 Player of the Year and NV coach Greg Schweiger has been chosen the BCANY 2023 Basketball Coach of the Year in Class B girls.

Owego’s John Bangel was selected the BCANY 2023 Co-Player of the Year for Class B boys. He shares the honor with Chenango Forks’ Trevor Warpus. Tioga’s Evan Sickler was recognized as the Class C Player of the Year.

The Indians’ Chris Evans was named the Class B Coach of the Year while the Tigers’ Brian Card was chosen the Class C Coach of the Year.

Also on the girls side, the Cardinals’ Hayley Beebe joins Gardner on the All-Section IV first team, as does Waverly’s Kennedy Westbrook. Owego’s Madison McEvoy has been selected to the second team and NV’s Jasmine Graham received an honorable mention.

For the boys, Waverly’s Joey Tomasso joins John Bangel and Sickler on the All-Section IV first team. Owego’s Joe Bangel was named to the second team.

The BCANY all-star game will be played Tuesday at Elmira College’s Speidel Gym Pat Thompson Court. First and second team picks are eligible to play. The girls tip-off at 5:45 p.m. and the boys begin at 7:30 p.m.

Admission is $5 per person to help pay for jerseys and officials. Players and children 10 and under are free. Gates open at 5 p.m.


Section IV BCANY Award Winners
Player of the Year
AA: Jalea Abrams, Elmira
A: Kaety L’Amoreaux, Maine-Endwell
B: Cha Gardner, Newark Valley
C: Kailey Kalet, Union Springs
D: Madalyn Barrows, Oxford

Coach of the Year
AA: Willie Fann, Binghamton
A: Mike Howell, Union-Endicott
B: Greg Schweiger, Newark Valley
C: Andy Kalet, Union Springs
D: Chris Palmer, Oxford

First Team
Hayley Beebe, Newark Valley
Cha Gardner, Newark Valley
Kennedy Westbrook, Waverly
Jalea Abrams, Elmira
Jenna DiNardo, Corning
Alyssa Dobson, Corning
Kaety L’Amoreaux, Maine-Endwell
Sophia Bonnell, Horseheads
Adrianna Fontana, Union-Endicott
Marisa Smith, Johnson City
Precious Gabriel, Johnson City
Maggie Warpus, Chenango Forks
Kailey Kalet, Union Springs
Payton Gilbert Union Springs
Payton Littlefield, Edison
Madelyn Barrows Oxford

Second Team
Madison McEvoy, Owego Mia Little, Ithaca
Sugar Williams, Binghamton
Mariah Luke, Binghamton
Megan Wolf, Horseheads
Allison Dipietro, Union-Endicott
Ally Stank, Union-Endicott
Emma Phelan, Johnson City
Madeline Triskett, Chenango Valley
Madelyn Hayes, Chenango Valley
Shannon Maloney, Elmira Notre Dame Payton Yahner, Greene
Danielle Waldron, Union Springs
Chloe Hanson, Moravia
Charlie Bennett, Southern Cayuga
Joleen Lusk, Charlotte Valley

Honorable Mention
Jasmine Graham, Newark Valley
Melody Fann, Binghamton
Ellie Clearwater, Elmira
Annabel Burke, Johnson City
Bryn Hogan, Susquehanna Valley Abbie Platt, Oneonta
Helena Willis, Chenango Forks
Kylie Mussaw, Unatego
Rachel Vickio, Watkins Glen
Allison Kehoe, Moravia
Hannah Nolan, Odessa-Montour
Nat Vrendenburgh, Dellhi
Hannah Bonczkowski, Gilbertsville-Mt. Upton

Player of the Year
AA: Chris Woodard, Elmira & Luke Little, Ithaca
A: Zubayr Griffen, Johnson City
B: John Bangel, Owego & Trevor Warpus, Chenango Forks
C: Evan Sickler, Tioga
D: Connor Quarino, South Kortright

Coach of the Year
AA: Ryan Johnson, Elmira
A: Jeff Lemoncelli, Horseheads
B: Chris Evans, Owego
C: Brian Card, Tioga
D: Aaron Kaufman, South Kortright

First Team
John Bangel, Owego
Joey Tomasso, Waverly
Evan Sickler, Tioga
Zubayr Griffen, Johnson City
Andrew Erickson, Seton Catholic
Jeremy Truax, Horseheads
Luke Little, Ithaca
Trevor Warpus, Chenango Forks
Cullen Green, Maine Endwell
Larry Morse, Union Endicott
Chris Woodard, Elmira
Logan Booker, Corning
Jackson Casey, Corning

Second Team
Joe Bangel, Owego
Connor Holland, Marathon
Luke Schnabel, Delaware Academy
Connor Quarino, South Kortright
Justin Yearwood, Ithaca
Qsan Tucker, Johnson City
Mekai Lindsey, Union Endicott
Luke Kariam, Susquehanna Valley
Nick Lang, Union Endicott
Amari Truax, Horseheads
Anthony Kitching, Elmira
William Holmes, Ithaca
Aidan Fenkl, Maine Endwell
NOTE: Coaches must be a BCANY member in order for their players or themselves to be recognized.


IN PHOTO: Owego’s John Bangel and Newark Valley’s Cha Gardner.

Print Friendly Version

You've asked about helping ...
here's your chance. Click HERE