Boys & Girls Club GUTHRIE SPORTS MED Tioga County Sports ReportDANDY MINI MARTS Tioga State Bank Williams Auto GroupLounsbury Agency


Tioga County Sports Report
TIOGA COUNTY — Fans of Tioga County softball were treated to plenty of exciting diamond action this season, including three teams which reached the Section IV semifinals, one of which played for the championship.

Owego would fall to Chenango Valley in extra innings in the Class B title game and the Warriors would go on to become the state runner-up.

The Indians recovered from an early three-game losing streak and a 1-3 start to make a strong postseason run behind the arm and bat of senior pitcher Lauren Gilbert.

The All-Tioga County “Softball Player of the Year” posted a 0.83 ERA in sectional play, allowing just two earned runs while striking out 21 batters. At the plate, Gilbert hit .333 (3-for-9) and accounted for seven of the Indians’ 11 postseason runs.

She belted the game-winning home run in a 2-1 semifinal upset of top-seeded defending champion Susquehanna Valley and her solo shot against CV ignited a two-inning rally to tie the game when her team trailed, 4-1.

In the circle, Gilbert went 11-6 overall with a 1.847 ERA over 102 1/3 innings. She gave up 48 runs on 81 hits and 41 walks while striking out 134 batters.

She hit .485 for the season with six homers, two triples, six doubles and 27 RBI.

The “Offensive Player of the Year” is Spencer-Van Etten’s Raegan Sudnikovich. The sophomore catcher hit .563 (40-for-71) and 22 of her hits went for extra bases, including eight home runs and 11 doubles. She scored 44 runs, drove in 32 more and posted a .788 on-base percentage.

The “Defensive Player of the Year” is Tioga’s MJ Thetga. Her deadly accurate arm picked off six runners attempting to steal and nailed two runners off first base. She committed just one error in 122 defensive chances for a .984 fielding percentage.

Tioga’s Erin Luther is the “Newcomer of the Year.” The freshman played a dual role as an outfielder and a pitcher as the Tigers went 14-6, won the IAC South Small School title and advanced to the Class C semifinals as a No. 7 seed.

She hit .388 (26-for-67) with five home runs, five triples, two doubles, 28 RBI and 22 runs. She carried a .791 slugging percentage, a 1.252 on-base plus slugging percentage and a .461 on-base percentage.

In the circle, Luther posted a 2-3 record with 36 strikeouts in 25 innings.

The "Coach of the Year” is Owego’s Brent Doane. The second-year mentor guided his group to the Section IV Class B runner-up spot. The Indians overcame an early three-game losing streak to earn the fourth seed in the Section IV Class B tournament. They went on to upset No. 1 Sus Valley in the semis and took No. 2 CV to extra innings.


Player of the Year: Lauren Gilbert, Sr., Owego
Offensive Player of the Year: Raegan Sudnikovich, So., S-VE
Defensive Player of the Year: MJ Thetga, So., Tioga
Newcomer of the Year: Erin Luther, Fr., OF/P Tioga
Coach of the Year: Brent Doane, Owego

First Team
Pitcher: Rhiana Lawrence, Sr., S-VE
Catcher: Addie Aman, Sr., Candor
First Base: Sarah Terry, Jr, Owego
Second Base: Jordan Greeno, Jr., Owego
Shortstop: Faith Brenchley, Fr., S-VE
Third Base: Abby Foley, Sr., Tioga
Outfield: Alex Aubel, So., Owego
Outfield: Erin Luther, Fr., Tioga
Outfield: Michaela Lauper, Jr., Waverly
Outfield: Hayley Beebe, Jr., Newark Valley
Utility: Ava Brown, So., Owego

Honorable Mention
Anna Greeno, Candor
Jill Holmes, Candor
Isabel Makie, Candor
Shelby Swartz, Candor
Chloe White, Candor
Mackenzie Malone, Newark Valley
Leah Whittaker, Newark Valley
Jocelyn Wright, Newark Valley
Saylor Ayers, Owego
Taylor Dalton, Owego
Carly Kirtland, Owego
Natalie Donovan, Owego
Adrienna Farmer, S-VE
Katelyn Klym, S-VE
Hannah Martinez, S-VE
Julia Bellis, Tioga
Molly Bombard, Tioga
RaeAnne Feeko, Tioga
Alissa Hine Tioga
Austyn Vance, Tioga
Aubrey Ennis, Waverly
Olivia Robinson, Waverly
Bella Romano, Waverly


IN PHOTO: Owego’s Lauren Gilbert. ... TCSR STOCK PHOTO.

Print Friendly Version

You've asked about helping ...
here's your chance. Click HERE