Boys & Girls Club GUTHRIE SPORTS MED Tioga County Sports ReportDANDY MINI MARTS Tioga State Bank Williams Auto GroupLounsbury Agency


Tioga County Sports Report
TIOGA COUNTY — There were several talented athletes among the local track & field ranks this season, but only one topped the list in four events.

Waverly’s Kennedy Westbrook posted the fastest times in two sprints and two relays.

The junior and the All-Tioga County "Girls Track and Field Athlete of the Year” ran the 200-meter dash in 27.11 seconds and clocked 1:03.39 in the 400.

She anchored the winning 4x100 relay at the IAC championships and was a runner-up in the 200, 400 and 4x400 relay.

Westbrook anchored two relays, one being the state-qualifying 4x100. She teamed with Natalie Garrity, Abbey Knolles and Olivia Nittinger for a time of 50.99, and the quartet went on to place ninth at the state championships. She also grouped with Knolles, Nittinger and Addison Westbrook to clock 4:18.75 in the 4x400.

Westbrook has also been named the "Track Athlete of the Year."

Newark Valley’s Kylee Carrier is the "Field Athlete of the Year" as she was the only athlete to lead Tioga County in multiple field events. She threw the discus 87-11 and heaved the shot put 30-3 ¼.

A double winner throughout the season in dual meets, she was third and fifth, respectively, at the IAC championships and followed that with a sixth and fifth in Section IV Class C, and a pair of top-10 performances at the Division II state qualifier.

Owego’s Stella Palladino is the “Newcomer of the Year.” The 8th-grade sprinter was named a STAC Central All-Division performer in the 100 and 200, and the 4x400 relay, where she teamed with Alex and Sidney Senko, and Olivia Dodge.

Palladino was third in the 100 at the STAC championships and won the event at the Section IV Class B meet. She was the Class B runner-up in the 200 and the relay also placed second. At the state qualifier, she finished fourth in Division II (fifth overall) in the 100 and seventh in the 200 (ninth overall).

Waverly’s Dave Hogan edged out some tough competition to earn the “Coach of the Year” honor. He sent 10 boys and girls to the NYSPHSAA Division II championships, including one girls relay.

The lady Wolverines, in addition to their top-10 finish at states, also won the IAC South Large School title, took second at the IAC championships, and ended up fourth at the Section IV Class C championships.



Athlete of the Year: Kennedy Westbrook, Waverly
Track Athlete of the Year: Kennedy Westbrook, Waverly
Field Athlete of the Year: Kylee Carrier, Newark Valley
Newcomer of the Year: Stella Palladino, Owego
Coach of the Year: Dave Hogan, Waverly

First Team
100: Natalie Garrity, Waverly
200: Kennedy Westbrook, Waverly
400: Kennedy Westbrook, Waverly
800: Isabella Matisco, Candor
1500: Jaelyn Chrysler, Owego
3000: Jaelyn Chrysler, Owego
1500 Racewalk: Haylie Davenport, Waverly
2000 Steeplechase: Harper Minaker, Waverly
100 Hurdles: Mariah Nichols, Tioga
400 Hurdles: Alexandra Senko, Owego
High Jump: Kara Morse, Candor
Long Jump: Kathryn Simmons
Triple Jump: Mariah Nichols, Tioga
Pole Vault: Julia Walsh, Tioga
Discus: Kylee Carrier, Newark Valley
Shot Put: Kylee Carrier, Newark Valley
4x100 Relay: Waverly (Natalie Garrity, Abbey Knolles, Olivia Nittinger, Kennedy Westbrook)
4x400 Relay: Waverly (Abbey Knolles, Olivia Nittinger, Addison Westbrook, Kennedy Westbrook)
4x800 Relay: Waverly (Haylie Davenport, Lauren Gorsline, Maddy Olmsted, Elizabeth Vaughn)
Pentathlon: Kathryn Simmons, Newark Valley


IN PHOTO: Waverly’s Kennedy Westbrook. ... VSR STOCK PHOTO.

Print Friendly Version

You've asked about helping ...
here's your chance. Click HERE