Tioga County Sports Report for Penn York Valley


Tioga County Sports Report
WAVERLY — Matt Laubach led a group of seven Owego qualifiers at the Section IV Division II Qualifier B tournament here Saturday. The junior gave the Indians their lone champion, taking the title at 106 pounds.

"Matt wrestled tough," Owego coach Nick Rodgers said. "There were only four kids in the weight class, but he came in as the top seed and he pretty much dominated."

After receiving byes in the first two rounds, Laubach finally took the mat for an early-afternoon semifinal. However, he barely had time to get into rhythm, pinning Darren Dietrich of Susquehanna Valley in 51 seconds.

His championship bout with Waverly's Connor Stotler didn't look like it would take long either as he took Stotler down and cradled him for a 5-0 lead. Stotler would survive, and score an escape and takedown to make it 5-3 after one period.

Neither wrestler gained much ground in the second period as they headed into the final period with Laubach still ahead, 7-5.

Starting on their feet, Stotler would put Laubach to his back, but somehow Laubach managed to bridge out of the predicament for a 5-point move, then maintain that lead for a 12-5 decision.

"It wasn't the cleanest match he's wrestled, but he got the W and that's what's important. He kept wrestling," Rodgers said.

Cam Bundy would place second at 170, falling to returning state-runner-up Mikey Squires of Norwich, 12-1. Bundy pinned Deposit / Hancock's Jesse O'Donnell in 1:19, then controlled Langdon Sibley of Windsor, 6-0, to reach the final.

Jacob Morris (132) picked up a 16-0 technical fall over Corey Jewett of M-E in his first match, but lost by pin in 1:46 to eventual champ Ousmane Duncanson from SVEC in the semis. He received a medical forfeit over Mason Edwards of Norwich in the consolation finals.

The Indians had a trio of fourth-place finishers — Zach Miner (145), Tyler Benjamin (182) and Logan Bailey (285) — all suffering his first loss of the day in the semifinals against the eventual champions.

Miner pinned Tyler Boura of M-E in 1:45 before falling to Dylan Wilmot from Windsor by pin in 55 seconds. In the third-place match, he lost to Oneonta's Ardell Wellman by fall in 3:40.

Benjamin opened with a fall over M-E's James Mancini in 3:35, then lost by pin to Windsor's Gabriel Monroe in 1:55 in the semis. In the consolation finals, he lost by fall to Waverly's Gage Tedesco in 2:23.

Bailey also started off with a pin, dispatching SVEC's John Hammond Jr. in 2:30. In the semis, he faced the top ranked heavyweight in the state, Norwich's Tyler Rice, and lost by fall in 44 seconds. Going for third, he lost to Oneonta's Jeramiah Morris by pin in 2:43.

The other Indian moving on to the state qualifier is Mason Pratt, who placed fifth. He decisioned M-E's James Mancini, 11-6, to qualify. In his tourney opener, he lost to Tedesco by fall in 3:52. He would pin SVEC's Camrin DePrimo in 37 seconds to reach the fifth-place bout.

David Cox placed sixth at 220, going 1-2 with a fall. Matt Gatto (160) went 2-2 on the day in the largest class (13 wrestlers) and finished with a pin and major decision to his credit.

"Overall, we wrestled OK," Rodgers said. "I'm hoping to have a good week of practice and get these kids winning some of these close matches we were losing. We got most of our guys through and that's what matters."

Owego finished fifth in the 12-team tournament with 121.5 points. Windsor won the team title with 270.5 points, with Norwich (188), Waverly (151), Sus. Valley (132) placing second through fourth, respectively.

The top five place-winners in each weight class advance to the Section IV Division II Wrestling Championships at the Floyd L. Maines Veterans Memorial Arena in Binghamton Feb. 15.


Team scores:1. Windsor 270, 2. Norwich 188, 3. Waverly 151, 4. Susquehanna Valley 132, 5. Owego 121, 6. Spencer-Van Etten/Candor 104, 7. Oneonta 104, 8. Groton 102, 9. Deposit/Hancock 87, 10. Maine-Endwell 76, 11. Whitney Point 63, 12. Moravia 54

99: Max Morris (Norwich) pinned Tim Boyce (SV), 1:46
106: Matt Laubach (Owego) dec. Connor Stotler (Waverly), 12-5
113: Dante Geislinger (Norwich) pinned Andrew Hatch (Moravia), 1:17
120: Andrew Brown (Norwich) dec. Troy Hayes (Windsor), 4-0
126: Kyle Willard (Groton) dec. Ryan Kennedy (Windsor), 7-2
132: Ousmane Duncanson (SVEC) tech. fall over Deekon Flint (Windsor), 17-2
138: Garrett Skeens (Waverly) pinned Kristian Nilsen (Whitney Point), 1:00
145: Dylan Wilmot (Windsor) tech. fall over Jordan Canniff (WP), 18-2
152: Joey Marvin (Norwich) dec. Austin Kimble (Waverly), 18-7
160: Ethan Stotler (Waverly) pinned Dave Flora (Windsor), :47
170: Mikey Squires (Norwich) dec. Cam Bundy (Owego), 12-1
182: Gabe Monroe (Windsor) dec. Mitchell Knapp (SV), 3-2
195: Trevor Frable (SV) dec. Quinten Bissell-Smith (Oneonta), 14-1
220: Collin Bidwell (Windsor) pinned Wyatt Matijas (Moravia), 5:15
285: Tyler Rice (Norwich) pinned Evan Kenyon (D/H), :35

99: Wyatt Stouffer (SVEC) pinned Kyle Mead (D/H), 3:49;
106: Noah Taylor (Windsor) pinned Darren Dietrich (SV), 2:14;
113: Kris Willard (Groton) pinned Ethan Dibble (Windsor), 2:28;
120: Isaac Allen (Groton) pinned Hunter Couse (D/H), 2:38;
126: Payton Bennett (M-E) dec. Rylan LaForest (Waverly), 11-3;
132: Jacob Morris (Owego) medical forfeit over Mason Edwards (Norwich);
138: Hunter Cleveland (SVEC) pinned Jeter Neff (Groton), :47;
145: Ardell Wellman (Oneonta) pinned Zach Miner (Owego), 3:40;
152: James Hoover (Windsor) pinned Anthony Rotunda (Groton), 3:40;
160: Dakota Powers (Norwich) pinned Noah Yadlosky (Windsor), 2:28;
170: Langdon Sibley (Windsor) pinned Nicholas Tubbs (SVEC), 3:41;
182: Gage Tedesco (Waverly) pinned Tyler Benjamin (Owego), 2:23;
195: Dalton Wells (Oneonta) pinned Mitch Enright (SV), 2:15;
220: Pat Enright (SV) pinned Logan Barnes (D/H), 1:32;
285: Jeremiah Morris (Oneonta) pinned Logan Bailey (Owego), 2:43

99: Nathan Javier (Windsor) pinned Audrianna Butts (Moravia), 2:15;
106: No match;
113: Shane Howell (Oneonta) pinned Mason Ham (Moravia), 2:07;
120: Tyler Hasbrouck (Oneonta) pinned Madison Yeakel (Waverly), :28;
126: Jack Caruso (Oneonta) pinned Nate Eberhardt (Moravia), 3:58;
132: Corey Jewett (M-E) pinned Adam Leonard (SV), 2:38;
138: Regan Conrad (Windsor) dec. Cole Stanton (Waverly), 11-0;
145: Joe Bishop (Groton) dec. Tyler Boura (M-E), 7-4;
152: Connor O’Boyle (D/H) pinned Hunter Ballard (WP), 1:32;
160: Devin Beach (SVEC) dec. Killian Prentice (WP), 9-6;
170: Jesse O’Donnell (D/H) dec. Trevor Meyers (Waverly), 6-4;
182: Mason Pratt (Owego) dec. James Mancini (M-E), 11-5;
195: Shamus McGuire (M-E) pinned Jacob Campolito (SVEC), 4:51;
220: Garrett Ellis (M-E) pinned David Cox (Owego), 4:30;
285: Garrett Bidwell (Windsor) pinned Brian Titus (SV), 2:35

Outstanding wrestler: Brady Worthing (Tioga)

—————— IN PHOTO 1: SVEC's Ousmane Duncanson. ... PHOTOS BY TIM TAYLOR.

Print Friendly Version

You've asked about helping ...
here's your chance. Click HERE